

6 JANUARY 2011

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITIONS



WOLFGANG TSCHAPELLER WINNER OF THE COMPETITION FOR THE CENTRE FOR PROMOTION OF SCIENCE IN BELGRADE

The Serbian Ministry of Science and Technology launched an international competition for the design of a Centre for the promotion of science in one of New Belgrade's neighbourhoods. This open de project competition, in a single stage, was organised by the Union of Architects of Serbia together with the Association of Belgrade Architects and run under the aegis of the UIA.

The brief concerned the design of the Centre, a complex including exhibition and conference spaces as well as a planetarium. Located on a 11, 66 ha site of which 20 915 m2 has been allocated for the construction of the new Centre. Competitors were also called upon to make proposals for the urban planning of the entires site as a science park to become part of Belgrade's high-tech sector, a university, scientific and comercial neighbourhood.

Two hundred and thirty two entries from forty countries were presented to the international jury, presided by Jovan Mitrovic, President of the Union of Architects of Serbia. Brazilian architect Roberto Simon represented UIA on the jury that met, in Belgrade, from 13 to 17 December 2010. Three prizes and three mentions were awarded for a total value of 10 000 euros, as well as six honourable mentions.

The winning project, by Austrian team **ZTGMBH Architekten**, led by **Wolfgang** Tschapeller, was selected by a unanimous vote. It proposes a surprising and intelligent interpretation of modern architectural principles, connecting to the history of New Belgrade, as well as pointing to the new possibilities in the future. Elevated, the Centre appears as a modern symbol of science, keeping the green landscape for the citizens of New Belgrade. The jury came to the conclusion that this project fitted both the requirements of the programme and the aspirations for the institution as well as for the city for which it provides a new, welcome landmark.



The second prize was awarded to the Japonese team Sou Fujimoto Architects and the third to the Serbian team ARCVS, Branislav Redlic, Dragan Ivanovic, Zoran Milovanovic, Zoran Doroviç, Vesna Milojeviç, Boris Husanoviç, Marko Todoroviç, Predrag Stefanoviç.



See the results on-line http://www.blok39.com